The group has delivered over 70 PhDs, including MIT Full Professor Frans Kaashoek and Amazon CTO Werner Vogels.  Since 2010, five theses have won the  Roger Needham PhD Award  for best systems PhD thesis in Europe, outperforming any other systems group. Moreover, one thesis (Giuffrida’s) has won the Dennis M. Ritchie Doctoral Dissertation Award, the only such award ever given to a non-US university, and another thesis has won the  ACM SIGSAC Dissertation Award.